MRU PreceptorClinical placement for MRU nursingGet matched

MRU nursing programs and their clinical requirements

MRU's School of Nursing lists ten programs, and their clinicals work in three different ways. In the nurse practitioner and leadership programs you find your own preceptor for MRU to approve; the DNP logs indirect practice hours with an assigned project mentor; and the on-campus pre-licensure programs hold externships at contracted agencies.

Get your placement plan

Tell us your MRU program and where you live. A placement advisor replies with what an MRU-ready preceptor and site look like for you.

By sending this you agree we may reply by email, call or text about your placement. Message and data rates may apply; reply STOP to opt out. Privacy

Bar chart of clinical and practice hours MRU publishes: AGACNP certificate 810; PMHNP certificate 765; DNP 765 practice hours; BSN 675; MSN Direct Entry 495; ASN 450. MRU prints no FNP clinical-hour total.
Clinical and practice hours MRU publishes: AGACNP certificate 810; PMHNP certificate 765; DNP 765 practice hours; BSN 675; MSN Direct Entry 495; ASN 450. MRU prints no FNP clinical-hour total.

Who finds the preceptor, program by program

Clinical hours and preceptor arrangements by MRU program
ProgramClinical or practice hoursWho finds the preceptor or siteWho approves
MSN-FNPNo printed total; four clinical courses (765 by our calculation)YouOffice of Academic Affairs
FNP Post-Master's CertificateSame four courses; fewer for certified NPs after a gap analysisYouOffice of Academic Affairs
PMHNP Post-Master's Certificate765YouProgram Coordinator (2025 catalog) or Office of Academic Affairs (Oct 2025 sheet)
AGACNP Post-Master's Certificate810YouOffice of Academic Affairs
MSN Healthcare Systems Leadership180 practicum hoursYouGraduate clinical coordinator
DNP (39 credits)765 indirect practice hoursNot stated; a project mentor is assignedProgram faculty (2025 catalog)
RN-to-BSN135Not stated by MRUNot stated by MRU
MSN Direct Entry495Externship agencies under contractNo own-preceptor rule found
BSN675Externship agencies under contractNo own-preceptor rule found
ASN450Externship agencies under contractNo own-preceptor rule found

The FNP figure is ours, not MRU's: MRU prints no FNP clinical-hour total, and 765 comes from applying its rule of 45 clinical hours per credit to the four clinical courses. MSN6400's own description asks for at least 180 hours.

How the program guides are grouped

Nurse practitioner covers the MSN-FNP and the three post-master's certificates, where the own-preceptor rule and the Practicum Affiliation Fee apply. Doctoral and leadership covers the DNP, a leadership doctorate that does not lead to APRN licensure, and the MSN in Healthcare Systems Leadership. Bachelor's and entry covers RN-to-BSN and the on-campus ASN, BSN and MSN Direct Entry programs.

Where you may live differs as well. Six programs tie enrollment to living in Florida or a SARA member state throughout, while the DNP looks at your RN license instead, which must come from Florida or a Compact state. The state guides cover each state.

Questions MRU students ask

Does MRU offer an MSN in PMHNP or AGACNP?

No. MRU offers psychiatric-mental health and adult-gerontology acute care only as post-master's certificates, for nurses who already hold an MSN. The only NP master's degree is the MSN-FNP, and the same FNP clinical courses are also available as a post-master's certificate, with a gap analysis for nurses who are already certified NPs.

Which MRU nursing programs are online?

The PMHNP certificate is online. The AGACNP certificate is online with a required three-day skills and simulation weekend on campus in the first semester. The MSN-FNP, FNP certificate, RN-to-BSN and leadership MSN run onsite and online, the DNP is offsite and online, and the ASN, BSN and MSN Direct Entry are on campus.

How many clinical hours is MRU's FNP?

MRU does not print a total. Its catalog lists four clinical courses, and applying MRU's own rule of 45 clinical hours per credit gives about 765, which is our calculation. MSN6400's course description separately asks for at least 180 clinical hours. The FNP clinical hours guide shows the working.

Is the MSN in Healthcare Systems Leadership new?

Yes. MRU added it in 2026 through a catalog addendum, so it is not in the 2025 catalog. It runs 40 credits with a 180-hour practicum in MSN5855, supervised by a nurse with at least a master's degree who works in administration and management.

Last checked 2026-09-24

We check these pages against MRU's own catalog, addenda and program pages. The nursing student handbook on the MRU student portal and MRU's Office of Academic Affairs have the final word.

MRU says secure your own preceptor. We start the search now.

Tell us your MRU program, where you live and when your next clinical course starts. We look for preceptors who fit the course and help you gather what MRU checks before approving them.

  • Preceptors matched to the course: adult primary care for MSN5700, women's health, pediatrics, psychiatric or acute care
  • Credentials, license and site details collected before MRU's credential check
  • Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach, or wherever in a SARA state you live

Start your placement plan

Program, city and start date is all we need to begin.

By sending this you agree we may reply by email, call or text about your placement. Message and data rates may apply; reply STOP to opt out. Privacy

Placement deskPlacement Coordinator · online